Although some states have moved to legalize marijuana use, possession of cannabis remains illegal in the state of Texas. Therefore, if you are found with this substance or related products on your person, you could face criminal charges with potentially serious consequences.
The level of offense you may face for marijuana possession, as well as the associated penalties of a possible conviction, vary based on the amount of the substance you are found with. Possessing two ounces or less is classified as a class B misdemeanor, while allegedly having between two and four ounces is a class A misdemeanor. You may get charged with a state jail felony if you have between four ounces and five pounds, a third-degree felony if you have between five and 50 pounds, or a second–degree felony if you have more than 50 pounds but less than 2,000 pounds of marijuana.
According to Texas state law, those convicted of class B misdemeanors face a maximum fine of $2,000, a jail sentence of up to 180 days or both. If you get convicted of or plead guilty to a class A misdemeanor, you may be fined up to $4,000, sentenced to a maximum of one year in jail or both.
The penalties for felony–level marijuana offenses are more significant. A conviction for a state jail felony carries a fine of up to $10,000, a prison sentence of between 180 days and two years, or both. Third-degree felonies in the state are punishable by a maximum fine of $10,000, between two and 10 years in prison or both. Felonies of the second-degree share the same penalties as those of the first-degree, except that the maximum prison term for second-degree felonies is extended to 20 years.
The information in this post is not meant as legal advice. Rather, it is intended for general purposes only.